WHAT I EAT IN A DAY!

What I eat in a day- on a perfect day

I try to eat as healthy as I can everyday. But I am only human and anyone who has been to my blog knows that I am a sucker for muffins. However, I believe that when it comes to healthy eating it is all about moderation and not denying yourself. Keep it healthy 90-95% of the time and you can have a little muffin now and then. Right? Right!
I started out my blog as a way to document my weight loss efforts but it has turned into a healthy eating food blog. I love food too much and I am not ready to give it up and so I decided to try and make the things I love with a healthy twist to them.

On a perfect Day, I try to eat as low carb as possible. Whenever I say Low carb, People immediately confuse it for NO carb. I believe my body needs some good healthy carbs to fuel my workouts and my day to day living. For my carbs, I mostly stick to oats and fruits in the morning. Every once in a while I will have some pasta and brown rice. As the day goes by, I try to reduce the number of carbs I take in.

My morning routine is pretty much set in Stone. I wake up at 5am and make my Warm water, lemon and Cayenne pepper Drink. I drink this while watching YouTube Videos (Don’t Judge) and Stalk people on social media (Please Don’t Judge).

I then go for my morning run and come back for my breakfast. Which is almost always a smoothie, or overnight oats.

 Breakfast:

My favorite Smoothie is my Mango & Mint Smoothie. For this you will need

– I mango
– I cup Yogurt
– ½ banana
– A few leaves of Fresh Mint
– 1 Tbsp. of flax seeds
-1/4 Cup of oats
Blend everything and Top it off with extra fruit. This meal gives me the carbs I need to recover from my run and also energy for the rest of the day.

pic-8

My second option is overnight oats. Which I like having with chocolate because it tricks me into thinking I am eating healthy without sacrificing my love for chocolate. For this you will need…

-1/2 cup of oats
– I cup water/ Or Milk
– I tbsp. Cocoa powder (The sugar free Kind)
– ½ Cup of yogurt
– Fruit to top it off
– I tsp. Sugar
To make the Oats, I add the oats, water, Sugar and Cocoa in a microwave safe bowl and mix. Cook it for 3 minutes. Take it out and add the yogurt. I find that this makes my oats creamer ( my personal preference). Top it off with fruit.

All-focus
AppleMark

Lunch
Broccoli and Chicken Penne Pasta

For me, lunch is always the heaviest meal I eat. That is because I am the hungriest during that period. Therefore, I tend to have most of my calories at lunch. One of the easiest things I make is Broccoli and Chicken Pasta. Now I know a lot of fitness fanatics are like what? Pasta? And I am like Yes! Pasta!

My trick to having pasta while still trying to lose weight is what I call’ VOLUMISING’. That means using 2-3 times as much protein and veggies than pasta. For example, If I have I cup of pasta, I will use about 2-3 cups of vegetables and about 1 cup of protein. That way I am eating way more low carb veggies and protein and still enjoying a little pasta.

For this recipe I use

– I cup penne pasta
-2 Cups Broccoli
-I cup Chicken Breast strips
* If you have some cauliflower around, it won’t hurt to add about a cup to this recipe

pic-4
AppleMark

-Boil your pasta with salt.
– In a pan, cook some onions and garlic in salt and add your strips of chicken Breast.  Add salt, black and cayenne pepper to the chicken breast. You can also sprinkle on some mixed price.
– Once the chicken is cooked, you can add in your broccoli. Let it cook for about a minute or two so that the broccoli remains almost raw.
– Add in the cooked pasta and toss it to make sure that everything is evenly distributed. Taste and add salt and pepper if necessary.

Dinner

For Dinner I try to go as low carb as possible. I like making spicy eggs with spinach. Once I read that chili speeds up your metabolism I was hooked. So it goes into everything I eat.

For the spicy Eggs, you will need

– 2 Eggs
– I cup Spinach or Swiss Chard
– Onion and garlic
– Basil
– Chili
pic-5

pic-9

musavi   Musavi is  a Food   blogger  from http://www.thekenyanfitnessfoodie.com/  who  is committed to getting fit and living a healthy lifestyle without pills, tricks or quick fixes.

One Comment Add yours

  1. wairegil says:

    I like broccoli plus creamy oats with banana, raisins and oats… Nice article!! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

